Waking up Trusting Life

This morning as I was lying in bed, I could feel my heart beating fast. I recognized that I was this was the result of my worries about money, about the phone call from my boss, telling me whether I could still teach college in the spring quarter. And then, thankfully, I remembered one of the lyrics from one my favorite songs from Rickie Byers-Beckwith:

“God is my strength, God is my Power, God gives me everything I need.”

That single line was enough to get out of bed, rise up strong, and begin my day with strength and Power, knowing that Life will somehow take care of all of my needs, just as it has every day since I was born. What a comfort, what a relief. To know that I could trust God to provide for me.  Somehow I had forgotten every thing I knew about the way that Life works. That the Universe will lift me up, despite what my boss decides.

That is why I believe so much in surrounding ourselves with inspiration. It could be from a lyric to a song, it might come in the form of a great book, it might come from a friend. Inspiration is everywhere, provided that we remember it and don’t fall victim to fear.

Now I can go about this beautiful, almost spring-like day and simply notice and enjoy what comes — the sun, the orange tulips and sunflowers in vase, the bay outside the window. And who know what will come, once I go outside?

Life is both too short and too priceless to find ourselves caught up in worry.  If we are ever tempted to wake up feeling afraid, it is important to turn our thoughts back to love and inspiration, and trusting Life as soon as we can.

Namaste.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment