A Tribute to Loyalty

Loyalty is not a word you hear much anymore. It apparently fell out of fashion, like bell bottoms and pantyhose. Loyalty, the quality of being a true friend, come what may. It reminds me of the wedding vows that I, as a minister, used to give out to couples. Friends are under no obligation. They didn’t take an oath swearing that they would be your friends forever.

Like a rare jewel, loyalty is a rare quality to have in a friend. With massive layoffs we got used to our employers not being loyal, they seem to be in it for the bottom line. When you have a loyal friend, that person will do anything for you, like save you when you are in shock from an earthquake, or step up beyond the call, when they know you need help, like from a stroke or a brain injury.

A loyal friend of mine died one year ago today. She saved my life from another realm when I had my brain injury. She comforted me. She took my hand and dialed the phone when I could not figure out how it worked. Not all people are believers in life after death. That is why I am particularly grateful for the one near-death experience I had with the unseen dimension. That is why I am paying tribute to the quality of loyalty and to my friend, Yolanthe today.

When I tell this story, people become transfixed. Very few people have tapped into the other dimension. When I used to teach Communication students in college, I had an activity called ‘Worlds Beyond’. One of the questions asked, “Have you ever been visited by a spirit presence?” And the students were supposed to give proof. There was, of course, no proof that would satisfy.

Now I am proud to say, “I am living proof, that love lives on and will never end.”

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Tribute to Loyalty

  1. Thank you for your inspiring stories! I’m really loving your blog! I wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. If you’d like to participate come check out how at: https://wellspringhealthandwellness.com/2017/01/28/blogger-recognition-award/

    Thanks for your beautiful posts. Keep up the great blogging!

  2. LoveHeals says:

    Thank you for nominating me. It is an honor for me to inspire people.

  3. Alisia says:

    Great looking site. Presume you did a bunch of your very own html coding.

Leave a Reply

