Ash Wednesday

“The true definition of sacrifice really moves more inwardly. It means to give up what no longer works in order to stay close to what it is sacred.” –Mark Nepo

I grew up catholic. I went to a private catholic school. I can clearly remember standing in line on our way to church on Ash Wednesday. Trying to figure out what to write on a white piece of paper, we had to give up something that we really liked in order to please God for forty days. It was very scary for me; because, oh boy! What if I could not accomplish it? I was definitely going to hell. For example, writing a lie about not drinking a soda for forty days, because I don’t drink them anyway. God will know since he knows everything.

I now can laugh at that, and I feel relieved that I have made peace with my past and especially with Catholicism. I see it now as a beautiful part of my life. I am not catholic any longer. But I am okay with the religion itself. It was not easy and yes, it took some time to see the religion differently. But now, there is not any more judgment and I find it easy to say the word, God, (in Spanish) which was a struggle for me for a long time. And better yet, I see and know that I don’t have to do something painful to earn Gods love. I am already valuable. God is already here, within me.

So today on behalf of Ash Wednesday, I want to share with you what now I understand as sacrifice.

I heard Mark Nepo say, “The true definition of sacrifice really moves more inwardly. It means to give up what no longer works in order to stay close to what it is sacred.” And sacred can mean different things to each person. Just like to someone that is vegan, not eating meat, it can be considered sacred. But, to someone else, eating meat is not a big deal. So without judgment let’s see that what we consider “sacred” is completely our choice.

I invite you to write down something that you would like to let go off, something that no longer serves you. Release it, and substitute it with something that will embrace a better you. You can write down an affirmation that helps you with this process. Repeat it for the next 40 days. You can share with me any insights.

Martha Bass

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ash Wednesday

  1. Thanks , I have recently been searching for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the best I have discovered till now. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

Leave a Reply

