Travel and Happiness

Travel can be so beautiful. It expands our horizons. It gives us new ideas about what life can be, especially when we go to a place rated by the Reader’s Digest, Thrive and Oprah as among the happiest places on Earth. I am here at The Peach Tree Inn in San Luis Obispo. It is my favorite hotel in my favorite location outside of the Loire Valley in France. It is beautiful.

As I look out my windows at the view, I am surrounded by high green hills. I am filled with gratitude for being alive. It is peaceful here. I can see birds flying high in an impossibly blue sky above old Eucalyptus trees. I see green everywhere. I see homes built on grass-covered hills and green mountains in the distance.

I can feel history.  I can fee what this town must have been like 100 years ago. Today it is still a beautiful, small town community where people love where they live, where they  are still able to enjoy life.

San Luis Obispo is a college town. It has great food. It has art. It has college sports teams. It has Arabian horses. It has a feeling of growth and new learning for students in a peaceful and quiet community. There is always something new to do. People have an average commute time of 10 minutes. Everybody walks or rides their bike or drives their cars on wide open, uncongested streets.

What a joy it is for me to get away and remember how different life can be, while I remember my own values at this stage of life.  This calm, peaceful life, art-filled life makes me happy. It is a bit like Thorton Wilder’s Our Town. It creates happy memories.

Is there a place that you love? It might be time to go there, just because it makes you happy.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

