The Emotional Power of Music

Today I had the greatest pleasure because I was thinking about my favorite songs all day long. It all started when a friend of mine, Rhoda, asked me what is your all-time, favorite song?

At the time, I was going to a birthday lunch with another friend and I was in a hurry. I responded without thinking by saying the first favorite song that came to mind, Carl Anderson’s On a Ferris Wheel.  I thought of my favorite songs all during lunch–James Brown’s duet with Pavorrati It is a Man’s World, Rick James and Teena Marie’s Fire and Desire. I asked my friend what songs moved her, comforted her, and made her happy.

That single question put both of us in the mood to remember what we were doing and how we were feeling while recalling our favorite songs. We connected like we hadn’t in years. I wondered, “How do songs have so much emotional power?”  What was it about that song that I was so attracted to? Despite my own growth in years and in musical tastes, why I am still so attracted to it?

Was is it the high notes? Was it the melody?  Was it the artist?  Was it the venue where I first saw the artist? All day long, I was trying to feel my emotions while replaying songs in my mind. Finally, I decided it was the raw emotional impact in music that made me feel so much.

The next time I am greeted with some not-so-good news, I am going to remember that I can control my thought patterns with just by remembering my favorite music and the emotion the music brings. If we ever need an instant uplift that will last for hours, just remember to think about your favorite song.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

