Humor and Healing

I woke up this morning thinking about humor. Even the thought of waking up and starting my day with something funny makes me smile. When I wake up thinking about something funny I always feel lighter.  I realized that I don’t think about enough funny things in my ordinary day.

Research shows that the average little kid laughs 150 times to 200 times a day. Contrast that with the average adult who laughs much less than a kid because they take life too seriously, they worry about too many things. I am looking to return to that joyful, laughing kid inside. I am starting my day with humor more often.

I remember a Sean Morey skit on the Tonight Show in the ’80s. The skit was called “Growing up in Reverse.”  The comic said that he wanted to start life out by retiring as a baby and then he would begin his career at 40, but first he would receive a gold watch. And after that he wanted to live out his wild teenage years and when he hit mid-life and be as flexible as a baby in old age.

I remember laughing at all the old physical comedians like Lucy and Carol Burnett. When I think of those shows, the memories still make me laugh. And when I think of the healing humor in movies like Patch Adams, that Doctor helped heal his patients through humor. Humor is good for our souls and it helps heal.

We can help heal almost anything through humor. Norman Cousins has proven that in his well-known book, Anatomy of an Illness as Perceived by the Patient: Reflections on Healing. Whenever we find ourselves taking life too seriously, consider stepping away from our overly serious thoughts and thinking instead about something or someone that has made you laugh, even if it is only ourselves.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

