I am a Work in Progress

I was here, I lived, I loved, I was here
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark, soul, everyone will know, I was here — Beyonce

A friend sent me this beautiful Beyonce song this morning. It is so uplifting. Beyonce clearly knows who she was meant to be and she lives it out so confidently. What causes one person to express herself so boldly and pursue her legacy in public?

It is her beauty? Her sense of style? Her passion for singing? I believe that Beyonce made the decision to be an inspirational force in everything that she does. That if each one of us were aware of the power of our own thoughts, we could create an unimaginable impact on the world, an unbelievable future.

What stops us from knowing? The belief that we are not good enough. “If only, I looked better, was younger, didn’t waste so much time…” we say to ourselves and the list of reasons for staying the same goes on and on.  The untrained mind gets caught up in negative thinking about what is wrong with me. But the positive mind thinks about what is right. That is the way successful people train their mind to think of possibility and ultimately of legacy.

I used to give my college students a paper. It simply asked them to write, “I am…” followed by a list of blank spaces. A blank canvas, upon which they were to create a list of who they believed they were at this moment in time. Then they were invited to read it aloud. It always told a lot about their confidence level and their attitude about themselves. I told them that they could change their minds at any time. And one little change could work wonders in their lives.

If we were to ask ourselves the “I am” question, I wonder what would we say? We might truthfully say, “I am a work in progress.”

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

