A New Attitude

I’m feeling good from my hat to my shoe
Know where I am going and I know what to do
I’ve tidied up my point of view
I’ve got a new attitude.  Patti Labelle

I adore that song by Patti LaBelle. I love Lady Gaga too. She is the ultimate re-inventor of self-identity. I believe that anyone can reinvent themselves and grow into anything they want to become. It seems to there is a deeply spiritual principle that people who are larger than life, like Oprah, Bette Midler, and the people we admire so much have tapped into.

Look around. We are always growing and the people we admire as artists are always growing in public. Lady Gaga is just so visible in her growth. She is not ashamed or embarrassed at what she was before, so there’s no holding onto the past.  So lighter than air, she continues to grow and to soar.

Many people imagine that these famous women are the only ones, that somehow God has favored them because they are so talented. But we all have the ability to become more visible and to grow and to soar. Lady Gaga just does it publicly and in mega-growth spurts. When we hang onto the past it prevents us from looking ahead at the future, at what we are trying to become. Sometimes hanging onto the past weighs us down so much that we can never fly.

If we do not want to be weighed down anymore, perhaps is time to cut the tether from the past, the way it used to be. When we finally do, it frees us. We will begin to soar, lighter than air. And there will be help from On High. I guarantee it.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

