Hope and Resurrection

Hallelujah. I am feeling hopeful today.  I went to yoga on the bluff overlooking the ocean. It was so inspiring. We moved and stretched our bodies, a soft breeze blowing over our faces while Dharma, my yoga teacher, told us a spiritual story from the Bhagavad Gita. Then I went to get my Easter haircut at a hip, unisex barbershop named Floyd’s.

After getting renewed with my new hair, I went to a powerful female drum circle led by my friend Marie. Drumming on a djembe from Africa was so good for my rhythm and my hands. We danced to an African tribal rhythm and beat our wooden drums under the backyard trees with the sunlight dappling through the leaves. When I left my friends, I went into my kitchen, made the dough by hand, using milk and egg for my traditional bunny bread. Kneading the dough felt so good for both my hands and my soul.

It is amazing what old-fashioned traditional art forms do for the spirit, body, and soul. I feel alive today. I feel creative today. I feel like I have been around the world today in  creative, religious, ritual celebrations of the beauty and joy of springtime. I feel my dendrites growing so nicely in springtime, like daffodils. On this Saturday before Easter, I feel hope in my soul. I feel like I have been resurrected, renewed, and transformed.

Creativity, rituals from many cultures, and the tactile use of my hands make me feel in sync with the world. What is it that makes you feel in sync with the world?

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

