Old Friends and Comfort

There is nothing like having an old friend come over, particularly when you only see them sporadically. My old friend, Randall used to live in L.A. We knew each other when we were only 29. We have lived through many fun times together. And scary times too, like the Northridge earthquake in the 90’s, when I lost my house.

We have sung the blues together more than once, like when his father died of Alzheimer’s, and I lost someone I thought was destined to be my soul mate. We have celebrated life together too many times to count. I could always count on Randall  to make me laugh no matter what we were going through. So many memories came back to me today.

Memories are a funny thing. Do these memories lie like a dormant bear in the heart or in the brain? Whenever I am triggered by something specific like remembering the color of drapes in the living room with the grand piano in it. For years, I forgot giving Randall that as a gift when I was forced to lose the beautiful Studio City house that the earthquake hit.

It is good for me to be reminded of the gifts that come from friendship. The good that we do, does come back many times over.  Someone who has known your history, who has grown with you, who laughs with you. Old friends can be a wonderful, comforting gift, reminding us of who we once were and what we once dreamed.  It is good to remind each other of how we always rise from every loss and that we can have a new dream at any time.

Think about your own personal history, your losses and your gains. It is so good to be reminded of who you really are and the strength inside of you. Thank God for old friends.

In honor of my friend, Randall, perhaps we could call or make a plan to visit an old friend today.

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

