Taking a Different Route

“My mom always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” Forrest Gump

Are you tired of taking the same old route through life? Do you feel like spreading your wings a bit? It is early morning and I have a rare, unplanned day. Like most of us, I tend to be a creature of habit. Oh, to be like Forrest Gump and to follow a feather on the wind and see where it leads.

The smallest change begins with a simple decision. On this day, I have decided to take a different route through life, to test out some new chocolates or follow a beautiful white feather on the wind. While I was writing, a friend, Terri called. She told me that she had a great idea for my life.

My friend urged me to get a beautiful blue notebook and to write down all of the things that I knew about and could teach. She reminded me that the notebook must be beautiful because you don’t want to start out your new life in the same old way.

I knew immediately that this call was heaven sent from God. I began to be so excited about all of my new life’s possibilities. My friend reminded me that I had an excellent structure for teaching.  I had forgotten all about my elegant, simple structure when I had my stroke. The truth is, I had forgotten my self-confidence as well.  I remembered how capable I always was and I said to myself ‘I can be capable again.’

What is it that we would do if we knew couldn’t fail? If we knew that the world is like a box of chocolates? All it takes is a hint of confidence to remind us of who we are, and who we are capable of becoming.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

