Hope and Balance

Have you ever released a load of pent-up stress and pain by crying the night before and then felt so hopeful the morning after? I am sure that at some point in all our lives, we have all felt so forlorn and then released that sadness and felt infinitely better in the morning.

We, as human beings are allowed the full range of emotions–to laugh, to cry, to love, to grieve, especially if we feel like our bodies betrayed us. I had always taken such good care of my body, by eating healthy foods, exercising, being fit, having a positive attitude. And yet, I had a stroke, a.k.a a fire or a heart attack in my brain. It burned neurons and dendrites, too many to count. It took a long time for me to become fully aware of the damage the electrical fire in my brain did.

So, I cry occasionally for what I have lost. Crying is new for me.  When I had the world by the tail, or thought I did, it was easy to be happy. Now, however, I am trying to let the feelings come, whatever they are, knowing that by my God-given nature, I will come back into balance again.

If we allow ourselves to be open and not shut down, our emotions will come back into balance again. If we stuff them way down deep inside, they will come out, in unexpected ways, like toxic relationships, unhealthy living, or inappropriate anger.

As humans, we always want to return to love and hope. They feel so much better. Now, today I feel lighter and filled with hope.  I believe that most of us want to be peaceful, hopeful, and positive. So many opportunities come to those who feel hopeful.

I believe God wants all of us to be happy, hopeful, and balanced. That way we can pass them on, and as we do, the world rises up, just a little bit more.

 

 

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

