An Extraordinary Life

I am an example of what is possible when girls from the very beginning of their lives are loved and nurtured by people around them. I was surrounded by extraordinary women in my life who taught me about quiet strength and dignity. –Michelle Obama

The Ocean of Life is lavish with abundance. Golden opportunities are everywhere for me.— Louise Hay
I went out today to explore volunteer opportunities. My first stop was the Marine Institute. They take young kids out in the summertime to research and learn about oceanography.
I would like to go out on the boat that goes out into the blue Pacific Ocean.  Though I know next to nothing about sea life or oceanography, I am eager to learn. Perhaps I can learn about the mystery that lies deep in the ocean from someone who has been around marine animals and oceans all their life. It would be fun to learn firsthand about octopi who have a brain in every tentacle, so they feel everything with their neurons.
My next stop was to investigate volunteering in a community garden.  I would love to learn from a master gardener about how to grow gorgeous, heirloom tomatoes, so juicy and sweet that they run down your chin when you bite into them when they are fresh off the vine. I would love to dig in the rich, cool earth with a shovel again so that I had a shovel full of wiggling worms like I did when I was a kid.
I am looking for a learning experience that lifts life from the ordinary into the extraordinary, just the way we felt about nature when we were kids. Life is literally an ocean of opportunity if only we will get out of our same old daily routines and stretch beyond our comfort zones into something new.
What is it that you would like to learn? Try something new today.
About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

