Revisiting the Past

So that I could move forward again.

I went back to Claremont today, a college town where I used to teach Creative Learning Environments. It was so beautiful. They called Claremont the land of trees and PhD’s.  I was so proud of that town because that it reminded me so much of the Midwest where I was born.

I visited all the old places where I used to hang out. I observed the landscaping and how it had changed. So many succulents now grow. So many food gardens too. I observed college students. They were all different, yet somehow the same. They were all eager to learn and on the way up and filled with dreams of their future.

I as I walked around campus, I thought about what happens between college and life beyond school. So many people have dreams. And many of those dreams come true. There is nothing like a college campus to make you feel that anything is possible.

College campuses have art shows and art galleries. They have music and music rooms. They have old architecture and old teachers too. Most college students eat in a communal dining room and they eat good, healthy food too.

I remember being so happy on a college campus, both when I went to school and when I taught.  I only remember the highlights. Not the low lights. Memory seems to be like that. I always remember the highlights of where I lived or worked. And never any past problems or dramas.

The human mind is funny like that. There is great value in going back and seeing where you used to live, or teach, or go to school.  It is the same and yet not. Like Thomas Wolfe says, you can never go home again. You must move on to greener pastures and new life.

God grant us all greener pastures for our new lives, wherever they may be.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

