The Anticipation of Life

I have been detoxing for eleven days. I am in “Phase Three,” which consists of adding certain foods back into my body. I chose to have grilled salmon, along with a beautiful salad with mixed greens, berries, and avocado, and so many exquisite textures. While I was preparing this scrumptious dish; I noticed that I never knew how “good” grilling a simple piece of salmon smells. While I was preparing the salad, I was savoring every single ingredient. I was really enjoying the process.

I was eating this wonderful meal and I enjoyed every single bite of it. However, for some reason, I savored the smells most of all while cooking it, a little bit more than eating the food itself. From my experience with cooking, I can really see what it means to enjoy the journey. I can relate to what “anticipate” really means. I was anticipating this beautiful meal, filled with so many delightful flavors. Yes, it was good; but the anticipation was just as good, if not better. The smell of the grilling salmon caused my mouth to water, anticipating what I was about to enjoy.

So, is our anticipation of pleasure more than the pleasure itself? Or is the anticipation of pain, worse than the pain itself? Do we enjoy the planning of a vacation more than the time spent there? Do we savor the excitement of going to watch a new movie that we have been waiting for more than the movie itself? Or it is just part of the process?

Let’s look forward to living life with anticipation.

Martha Bass

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

