Does Meditation Really Work?

I have been asked this question over and over again. The answer is the same every time. Yes, it does!  I was a speed (drug) user for at least ten years. During the last year of using this horrible drug, I was already at my lowest point. I hit rock bottom. Not a good scene. But I also started reading self-help books, during this low point in my life.

I started with Andrew Mathews, Wayne Dyer, and Louise Hay. I was sick of myself, of the person that I had become. Without having a clue that meditation would actually help. I started meditating daily, using different techniques.

Sometimes I just got quiet and was trying to figure out if I was doing it right. It always seemed that I was doing it wrong. I had all these thoughts coming to me and it seemed to me like it was nonsense. But I NEVER STOPPED, I just kept doing it, daily.

Without even realizing meditation helped me through the process of getting clean. It opened my awareness to see what was next. It helped me to trust “in God.” (Which was new to me.) I started to trust in myself. This was huge.

Doing drugs for so many years stole my self-confidence. I lost my identity. I didn’t know who I was anymore. I was able to stop using drugs without attending a drug rehab program. Yes, it was all because I had started meditating on a daily basis. And, I was repeating affirmations over and over every day. I started to trust God and I knew that the Universe was on my side. I started to create a new Martha, without guilt or shame of the Martha that I was.

I started to create a new identity, without guilt or shame of the Martha that I was leaving behind. I really invite you to meditate for at least ten minutes daily. Without worrying if you are doing it right or wrong. Just do it. Give yourself a month to try it at least five times a week. The impact that meditating will bring to your life will be absolutely empowering.

God Bless.

Martha Bass

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

