Healing in Nature

“Every natural action is graceful.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature

If you ever have a major decision to make, try taking a walking meditation in nature. I knew that I had a big life decision to make, whether to keep healing from a brain injury or go back to work. So I listened to my heart, that direct connection to Divine Wisdom.  It whispered, “Go to El Dorado Park.”

I had been craving the healing qualities of green, the old wisdom of live oaks, the new growth that is constantly happening in a forest-like park in the city. The forest is such a quiet space. I could feel the stillness. I could smell the pine trees. I could see new vines growing.  I could hear the song of birds, above the traffic noises of the city. I could see the birds preparing their nests.

I could feel the warmth of the sunlight, slanting through the trees. The sun overhead was filtered and shaded by live oaks and pine trees, making it cool and comfortable on my skin. I could feel with my fingers that someone long ago had called carved ‘Love’ onto the bark of an old oak tree. On the top of a winding path, I stopped, sat on a bench, closed my eyes, and meditated, feeling the wind caressing my face.

Nature is a healing space. It is a space where we can think clearly, where we can more readily allow higher thoughts to come, away from the world’s busyness.  Here, we can be relaxed and peaceful. Here we can hear the voice of God, guiding us as Divine Intelligence guides everything in nature.

When we allow ourselves to become one with nature, something magical happens. When we become come quiet, we can hear the ‘still, small voice of God’.  The right answers come to us. We can be confident that whatever choices we make will simply lead us down different paths, that whatever we decide, all will be well.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

