Creativity Comes from Feeling

I went for a walk by the bay today. And for once, I slowed down.  I was not thinking of the past or the present. I was just in the now moment. I let each of my five senses guide me. I forgot how little it took to stimulate them, the wind on my face, the view of water, the sounds and smells of nature.

My eyes looked at the amazing varieties of plants that are growing by the bay, things like blue dahlias, red fuchsias, succulents, and white roses. My ears listened for the cries of water birds, like egrets, pelicans, and seagulls. I was in awe of my surroundings. I felt relaxed and overjoyed.

I was enchanted once again by the natural world. How could I have forgotten how in love with nature I am? I let my finger gently touch a spiral cactus, feel reeds bending in the wind. I smelled the aromas of sage and rosemary. I let my heart feel grateful for all the wonders that God had created by making California so beautiful.

The world is golden, once we open our eyes to see the beauty instead of all the ugly stuff on the news. My vision has longed for views of beauty since I was a little kid. And here in Long Beach on a day just after the rain, it was foggy and damp and slightly wet. I felt like a kid again. I felt refreshed and rejuvenated in only 20 minutes.

What about you? Do you long for rest and renewal from your day of too much high-tech overload or too much sitting? If the answer is yes, do yourself a big favor. Take 20 minutes and go outside in nature. Try really using all of your five senses to walk slowly and meditatively. I guarantee you that it will add wonders to your creative work today.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

