What a Difference a Year Makes

“Anyone anywhere can do anything.” As heard on the Grammys from a male duo in their underwear. The Grammy award-winning duo said that last year they were “nobodies” lying around in their underwear, just watching the Grammys. The duo believed in themselves and in their vision. And despite knowing no one in the music business, they knew that one day they would accept a Grammy award.

What a difference a year has made in my personal life. I went from being a very fit, healthy eating, college professor and inspirational speaker, who loved to walk, hike up mountains, swim, kayak, and laugh with my students. I had recently moved to the beach, downsized my house to have more free time to play, write books, paint, and be near the ocean.  My life was everything I had ever dreamed about.

The morning after Valentine’s Day, I suffered a massive stroke. This time last year I was lying in a hospital bed unable to hold my head up, walk, or speak and my beloved Sr. Minister, Rev. Kris was holding my hand. Since I couldn’t speak, I couldn’t even tell Rev. Kris who dislikes television, how much I appreciated her watching the entire Grammys with me. She kept holding my hand for three hours. I couldn’t even nod my head to thank her.

Holding my hand is an example of love in action. I have seen so many examples of love in action since I had the stroke. Some of the lessons I have learned in that one tumultuous year are:

I realized I was loved by so many people

Love is everywhere. You simply have to see it

Grace is all around us

God has many human angels

Prayer works wonders

We have to have faith in ourselves and in a Higher Power to ride out the storm

Life is profoundly interdependent. None of us makes it alone.

We are all living under the incredible blessings of God

The human body is a miracle machine

Love can heal.

I am blessed God, by friends that love me, by Martha, my beloved practitioner, and by my awesome spiritual community. Thank you to everyone who ever held my hand, everyone who ever visited me, and to everyone who has ever cared about me. You all are God’s angels on earth.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

