Moving in a Positive Direction

As long as you can love you have a reason to live. – Karen Terrell

I was thinking of a wise elder today, Mary Baker Eddy who has written… “there are no retrograde steps, never a return to positions outgrown.” I sure love that idea, especially when it seems to all outward appearances that we are returning to positions we have outgrown long ago.

Like a job, or a too small town we outgrew years ago. For example, I believed that I had nothing new to learn from my job. It seemed like I was doing the same old thing, and after 12 years, it felt like I wasn’t learning anything new. I couldn’t wait to move on to whatever the future held for me.  I believed that the future would always be better because that is the way of newness.

Now, none of us knows yet what the future holds. If you, like me, feel like you are clinging so tightly to the familiar. Sometimes I feel like a person caught on a 1,000-foot cliff with a raging river below, just barely hanging on with all my strength and all of my fingernails. Where is my courage? Why am I so afraid of the future?

Sometimes we all forget. I know I used to remember much more often that God had my back and would never let go of me. I grew up thinking of God as Loving Energy, Infinite and ever present, like a Big warm Love that could swirl around the Universe, like liquid smoke.

I was fortunate. I grew up thinking of Father-Mother God, having qualities of both a Superhuman protector and a warm cookie-making mother, who tucked me in bed at night and read to me. How do we get back to the feeling of God as Love, filling all space? A God who is timeless, ageless, as Loving energy that will never let us go.

Perhaps it requires returning to the child-like heart within. By believing in ourselves once again. And returning to Love once again. As long as we have love, we have everything we need.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

