What If?

I was in Malibu this weekend. It was a gorgeous weekend, the weather was great. I was on a Hilltop campsite with ocean views, and clear skies, it was simply breathtaking. This was my third year of being in service. I went to assist with the teens for 3 days. All this is fascinating to me, I was not brought up with any of these opportunities, I was not even aware that they existed.

For three days, teens get to experience what pure love is all about. They are free to be themselves; they are appreciated for who they really are, and they have the opportunity to do workshops, they get coaching and private sessions if needed. The bonding between the people that participate is extraordinary.

After watching those teens carefully throughout the weekend; and paying special attention to detail. It became clearer to me that love is the answer to all of our problems. We can pretend that love is not the answer; but if we look back and pay close attention to the root of our issues, it is the lack of love, and either we feel unappreciated, judged, unlikable, unworthy or just unwanted.

It has been really painful to hear these teenagers share their stories of feeling that they have failed their parents because they don’t dress the way they are “supposed to.” Or want to go to the college their families are hoping to send them to, or just because they don’t follow the role model of the perfect child. Love is the answer to everything. What if, we take one day to see everyone for the love that they are instead of their faults? What if, we allow ourselves to see the beauty in others for who they are? Instead of for whom we think they should be? What if?

I bet we would start to see life with different eyes; therefore life around us will be a better place. Because I am sure that love does heal.

Martha Bass

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

