Sailing off to Ports Unknown

So many times we want to set out for something new, like a sailboat sailing off for ports unknown.  Like ancient sailors who navigated by starlight, we are often afraid of the unknown.

When I set out for California, I was from the Midwest where it rained four out of seven days a week.  I was working as a Carman for the Railroad on the midnight shift.  I thought how wonderful my life would be, if only I could get to a sunny, rain-free climate.

I could not imagine at the time, how my much life would change from that single decision. From the moment I got to California, I was exposed to so much that I never even knew existed. I was exposed to new religions, to a whole new world of education. I was exposed to different cultures, different perspectives, to vastly different ways of being than I had ever known before. And that changed me.

My life was so much more richer and far more interesting than I had ever dreamed. If I had stayed in Kansas, I would not be the person I am now. I would not be having the experiences that I am now. I would not have the memories I have now. I would not have have ever imagined the person that I would come to be. That lifetime of learning–compassion, love, that lifetime rich in travel, that lifetime of adventure all came about because I stepped beyond fear and into the sunshine.

Is there somewhere that calls to you to visit, to travel, to move? It is never too late to step beyond fear and head off for parts unknown.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in brain injury, healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

