Being Free Again

The Glory of Soaring.JPGI am noticing saying how rich my life is. It may not seem rich in cars or houses, but it is rich in time, and freedom to do the things I love the most. I am sitting on my bed looking out the window. The palm trees are still. The half-moon is up in the sky and the sky is gradually growing dark.

I find myself enjoying this life that I have created very much.  Before I downsized, I thought what if other people see me living in a small apartment, after living in so many upscale homes and neighborhoods.  As I grew accustomed to the new space, I realized that life was so much richer than it had been since I was in my teens.

The small space freed me up, to actually do of all the things I thought about — like  water sports, and going out carefree, to sit by the bay and gaze out at the boats and the changing sky. Now I feel like a kid again. I have far less to maintain here. No grass to mow, no property, no taxes, no big house. The sunlight, the trees, and the wind feel like my home now.

I see how important environment is on a person’s sense of freedom and well-being. I used to want bigger, better, faster, and now I want to simply want to live and enjoy the gifts of nature more.

All of that stuff was weighing me down. It was making me far too serious. It took way too much time to look after. And it took time away, from my freedom. It took time away from my appreciating the natural wonders of the world. Simply not rushing feels so slow and so good.  Now I have time to watch and listen to my body, my heart, and my soul.

What is it that weighs you down? It may be time to let go.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

