Rising Up

images.jpg

I awoke this morning with fragments of Maya Angelou’s poem floating through my head.

Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I’ll rise. – Maya Angelou

I will rise.  We are all going to rise. Even when I was lying in bed and needed help just to sit up, I knew that I would absolutely rise up again, and that someone, somewhere, would benefit from my story of healing. We are all going to rise. We live in an amazing universe.

No matter what our story is, illness, drug addiction, alcohol addiction, or simply having no passion because something in life has flattened us, if we believe that our story has value for others, that is an ‘aha moment.’ Now is the time to let the healing begin.

No matter how low down our lives appear, there is always a healing Grace. We are all beloved by God, even if we have different life experiences, even if we feel so hopeless, like the words from one of my favorite titles, “I have been in Sorrow’s Kitchen and I Liked Out All the Pots.” Even if we are without a home or job, God’s grace is always available.

All we have to do is keep believing that we have what it takes to get out of this mess. That we all have a God given power to co-create the lives we desire. And that belief becomes the turning point.

God’s grace was healing me every minute of my life, I could feel it even in the midst of my stroke. I could sense it, even though my brain was still so messed up. Somewhere inside of me, I knew that one day I would speak again, one day I would inspire others.

What is it you want more than anything? Know with me that you, somewhere inside of you is a great healing power put there by a most Awesome God and that you have the power to co-create the life that you want right now.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

