Counting my Blessings at Year’s End

This has been a year of both light and darks, of so many rich contrasts. The Bible says, “the darkness and the lights are both alike to Thee.”  That phrase comes from Psalm 139. This is one of my favorite wisdom teachings. This year, I have had a lot of lights and I have had a lot of seeming darks. My life felt like I was in shadow land.

Now I know what the old ancient wisdom tradition in Psalms meant. This year I had an acute brain injury, resulting from a stroke.  I have learned to see myself as having come from light through darkness. It helped me grow, in love, in appreciation for my life. In fact the process was very, very good. Just like God affirmed in Genesis.

Of course, it took some time for me to process all the good that was happening around me, and see it as positive. Now I see more clearly. A natural healing process was working through me every second of my life.

I am so grateful for my life as never before. I am grateful for clean water to drink. Because 10 months ago, I couldn’t even hold the glass to my lips. I am grateful for my brain’s re-learning capacities, the ability to rise up, the ability to walk, communicate, and speak again, because just a short while ago I couldn’t be understood at all.

I am grateful for the many friends who cared for me, for all those years that I kept those important relationships alive. Fortunately, relationships meant the world to me. And thank God, I never lost sight of that.

I am grateful for my beloved church community which surrounds me. They represent love to me. I am grateful for angels on this earth, because now I can see them for who they really are.

What a blessed year. How much I have learned out of this seeming darkness. What are some of the shadows that we might learn from? And then ever so slowly begin to feel that they helped us, become better than we ever were before. Gratitude is a healing emotion.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

