The Beauty of Forgiveness

What is forgiveness? The act of letting go of hurt, resentment, blame or any toxic feeling that attacks our body and mind in a terrible way. It is not easy to forgive when we are hurt, or think things should be a different way. My dad was kidnapped and murdered in Mexico when I was 15 years old. That has been one of the hardest moments of my life, how do I explain to this beautiful teenage self of mine, what happened? When my own world seems so frighenting because of my age. Everything was triple the pain, triple the confusion.

It may seem crazy, or for some people, or illogical, but I did forgive those people who took my father away in such a brutal and unexpected way. Slowly it dawned of me, not forgiving was like drinking poison on a daily basis and waiting for the perpetrator to die, but the person that was dying was me. This single act of forgiveness freed me.  I understood that nothing whatsoever was going to bring my father back.

Forgiving others is not easy, but forgiving ourselves is even more laborious. But how do we forgive ourselves if we live in such an unpeaceful world? At least that is what I used to think, until I came to the realization, that the world doesn’t forgive us until we start the process of really forgiving ourselves authentically. Until we do the work and understand that we TOO deserve forgiveness and a second chance to do better. Then, the world around us suddenly starts to shift in our favor.

I invite you today to start journaling. It is a great way to start the forgiveness work, go within and start loving yourself with your flaws and qualities. Just like the great qualities make you a gifted human being, also the mistakes have brought you to the space that you are now. And we have the choice to do differently and better every day. Love yourself enough to say YES to forgiving YOU.

Martha Bass

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

