What a Day

On my desk, sits a quote from Wayne Dyer. It says simply, “Put a sign on your bathroom mirror that says very emphatatically: No one is going to ruin this holiday for me, especially yours truly!”

It is Christmas Eve. Time for anticipation, of love, given and received. Time for forgiving and letting go of any past disappointments, like the election, like friends or family who didn’t call. Time to let go of any expectations, such as, I didn’t make as many Christmas presents as I had planned.

Now is all we have. Time to just enjoy the moments we have. For example: As I turn my focus away from all I didn’t do, I can hear a beautiful soprano signing opera on the radio. I can see the bright sunlight, its golden pattern lighting the kitchen floor. I can notice how creative I am. I see the products of my own creativity all around me. My own memories. Art, painted with love.

I am filled with grateitude for my travels. I can see a dancing mobile above me. It is three-tiered.  Africans twist and turn in fuchsia and green, artifacts from my travels to Zanzibar.  They opened the world to me. I see that I am surrounded by pictures of people who still inspire me, like Michael Beckwith and Rickie Byers, like a jazz musician in New Orleans.

I am so grateful for other people pouring out their own creativity in movies that inspired me, like Broke Back Mountain, like Miracle on 34th St. I am surrounded by my late mother’s art. She was so moved by a sunset from the movie, Around the World in 80 Days, that she painted it.  It matters to me, because I am her daughter.

I remember the many blessings I have had all year and I know that I am truly blessed all year long. What have you been blessed by this year?

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

