Celebrating Milestones

I believe in celebrating every milestone. We all have things to be proud and joyful about. I make sure that none of my victories goes by unnoticed, like marking a child’s height with a measuring stick. My conscious mind anchors my own growth differently, and I  can see who I am becoming, with gratitude to those who made it possible.

It is not just graduation but ever victory we make along the way. Milestones allow us to mark every increment of progress toward the goals we have in mind. When you have  achieved something significant, it is important to honor it.

I tell my college students to honor themselves not just at graduation, but every time they have mastered a new skill. This same principle was helpful to me as a stroke survivor. There were so many things I had to learn all over again, like learning to tie my shoe, learning to walk again and learning to speak again.

I believe in full healing. I know that gratitude is important. I know that a positive attitude is critical in healing. I know that my brain and my body are on the way to a full recovery.  So I celebrate every victory, every time I make progress toward my ultimate goal.

This morning I am celebrating those who helped me heal, by loving me, by seeing who I really was beyond the way I seemed at the time, beyond appearances, like my caretaker, practitioner, and my church. I am grateful to those people who made it possible, including my speech therapist, my occupational therapist, and my physical therapist.

I celebrate God, my Higher Power, for creating me with this natural healing capacity. I am so grateful for my amazing brain and my body.

What are you celebrating this day? Be sure and mark it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

