Telling Triumphant Stories

There is nothing quite like a triumphant tale to make us feel that we might make it too, out of whatever limits us. Stories give us hope, feed us with inspiration, allow us to remember the best part in ourselves.

Triumphant stories are everywhere. The greatest story ever told if we grew up in America, is the promise of the American dream. If we grew up Christian, it is the triumph against all odds of a poor boy who grew up to be the light of the world. If we are sick, it is the person who got well against all odds.

If we are unemployed, it becomes the person who prevailed against the system to finally be hired. It is the story of dreams becoming real. If we aspire to be a singer, it is maybe the winner of The Voice. Through others, we identify with the winner in ourselves.

Everyone has a triumphant story inside. It is what the wisdom of the elders is all about. It is what the fuels the hope of the young dreamer. It is what life is all about. Being real. Telling stories. Being vulnerable enough to say, like the author of Amazing Grace, “I once was lost, but now I am found.”

And yes, life does get better.

This year, I am drawn to stories of healing. Because I am a stroke survivor, I love to read about the triumphant brain, brains that came back to wholeness, against all odds. Stories like,  The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science.

These stories fill me with hope. I can identify. I can visualize myself healing. What is the story that you are telling yourself today?

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in healing, Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

