Regaining my Identity

I am retraining my brain. I know it is possible. I am reading books about how the brain changes itself. In the book I am reading now, the recent discoveries about the neuroplasticity of the human mind are miraculous. I am reading it to train my brain to have full sensation. As a healing stroke survivor, my brain had a fire in it  A part of my brain appears dead and I must train it to light up again.

I intuitively believe in full healing. I know that my body can heal fully. According to a map of the brain, the part responsible for sensation is called the cortical sensory homunculus. I am trying to visualize it lighting up whenever my right side is touched. Because I am artist, I was looking up visuals to paint the amazing brain’s capacity to heal itself. I know how important it is to really focus my attention on healing. I came across this, an  artist’s depiction of the human brain lighting up.

The text reads, “Left Brain I am the left brain. I am a scientist. A mathematician. I love the familiar. I categorize. I am accurate. Linear. Analytical. Strategic. I am practical. Always in control. A master of words and language. Realistic. I calculate equations and play with numbers. I am order. I am logic. I know exactly who I am. Right Brain I am the right brain. I am creativity. A free spirit. I am passion. Yearning. Sensuality. I am the sound of roaring laughter. I am taste. The feeling of sand beneath bare feet. I am movement. Vivid colors. I am the urge to paint on an empty canvas. I am boundless imagination. Art. Poetry. I sense. I feel. I am everything I wanted to be.”

What a great affirmation. Though I identify as a right brain artist, I know that we all have within us the ability to light up our brains. What changes would you like to make in yours?

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

