Celebrate Deeply

As someone who almost lost her life in the last year, I have reason to celebrate more deeply than I ever. We mark the days of our lives by milestones, memories and rituals. What is more important than being alive to celebrate the holidays?

I believe in marking every milestone, like we did when we were kids – the day I first crawled up my physical therapist’s leg, heaving from being out of breath. The day I first got out of a wheel chair. Learned to walk again, the day I climbed the my first stair, the first of many, and finally learned to shower again. These are big victories to someone who only nine months ago had a major stroke.

This has been a year of firsts. I remember going to my first yoga class on the bluff overlooking the ocean, wondering whether I had the physical strength to do even one downward-facing dog. I remember when I learned to open my Mac computer again so that I could tentatively stroke the keys. Learning to type so that I could write again, which is my passion. I recall my brain being so confused at all the sensory overload in the computer.

I am exciting about this life, I find it beautiful, heartbreaking, sometimes too sad for words. I find that music often matches my emotions, the high notes, the soaring duos of Pavoratti combined with James Brown. Good food. Friends who care. The ever-changing colors of the bay.

I find so much to be grateful for. As I think about celebrating this year, I find the sparkling lights on the Christmas trees overlooking the water more magnificent than ever. I hope that you, too will celebrate deeply.

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

