Changing my Story

A story is like a seed, it carries a power which is mysterious, potent and continuing, when it falls into the ground of a human mind, it takes on a life of its own.  I chose what I am going to share because changing my story has allowed me to be here with you. It is important to understand that we are works in progress and allow ourselves the opportunity to grow without judgment or attachment to how it should be.

For a period of two LONG years I was in an verbally and physically abusive relationship, It all started innocently enough with comments like, “Hey Martha, you sure don’t know how to do anything.”  And then it escalated into yelling, and then it grew into punching and pulling my hair, smashing me down on concrete, and leaving me a purple eye, and a swollen face. Why would I allow that to happen? I asked myself over and over that same question.

Because it gets to the point that unconsciously I believed what I was hearing over and over. And that was ” I am not good enough.” It made me feel powerless and defeated. I was embarrassed to go and talk to anyone in particular, because I wasn’t sure of what my family’s reaction was going to be.

After trying and trying unsuccessfully  to leave this horrifying situation, I was watching an interview with Maya Angelou  and Oprah, it brought me to tears when Maya recited the poem “phenomenal woman,” I started changing the story in my head and reciting the poem myself over and over, every time I got the chance, ( at least a month) until I really believed it and embodied the belief that I AM TRULY A PHENOMENAL WOMAN and I don’t need to take crap from anyone.

After 4 years now I am on a different path, I am proud of the fact that I am launching a new business with an extraordinary human being under the banner Loves Heals that allows anyone to rise up from the depths of despair to pride in themselves.

Martha Bass, Contributing Author

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing my Story

  1. Thank you for sharing your story. You are an inspiration. Many blessings!

Leave a Reply

