Learning to Rewire my Brain

I woke up early on Sunday morning. I love to read the L.A. Times while drinking coffee. Reading the L.A. Times is an old habit, something I picked up 35 years ago. So on this particular Sunday, I am changing my unconscious habits into something a bit more productive. I am writing.

I am relearning that my identity is changeable. When I got out of bed, I had to steady myself before walking. My body is healing. Since the stroke, I had to relearn to sleep again. Now I sleep seven hours. This is progress. I made the bed imperfectly. I used to be a perfectionist. I realized that I had to let go of my old identity if I was to avoid frustration, and be happy with myself. This, too, is positive progress.

I know that the healing brain needs to be powerfully reaffirmed for all the good work is is doing around the clock on my behalf. It is so important to stay in a positive frame of mind, so that the rewiring that is happening every single nanosecond can turn out powerful and positive.

I recently read an excellent book, that helped me think about my own power to rewire the brain.  Who Switched off My Brain: Controlling toxic thoughts and emotions by Dr. Caroline Leaf. Dr. Leaf uses illustrations to explain the physiology of a negative thought in the brain.

If I want my brain to be powerfully rewired, I must be around positive people who inspire me. If you want to become more powerful (rewire your brain in the most positive direction), it is important that you protect your thoughts, simply by remembering, I want to climb up to higher ground.

My personal tips for climbing higher up: Michael Beckwith, music by Rickie Byers Beckwith on YouTube, Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday and finally…continue to be you, be inspired and inspiring.

 

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

