Being Authentic

Authenticity is not something we have or don’t have. It is a practice. A conscious choice of how we want to live. Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest.  The choice to let our true selves be seen.

But how do I be authentic without hurting someone? Especially my mother that I love so much. Today I feel like my feelings, my needs are not important. And the world is needy.
Being authentic is an act of self love, self respect. And it takes a lot of courage, discipline, and practice.  And let’s be honest, without integrity nothing works. We can pretend it does. But at the end it’s exhausting and it can make us feel drained.

Today I am letting go of the need to complain and the thought of thinking that the day should be like I want it to be in the first place. I am choosing to enjoy my mother to the fullest and spend the day however she prefers.  Remembering that I am so blessed to have a mother with me. Because honestly I have so much  to be grateful for.

Let’s keep in mind that authenticity is the daily practice of letting go of who we think we are supposed to be and embracing who we are.

Martha Bass, Contributing Author

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, mindfulness, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

