Practicing Self-Love

It has taken me all my life to see that I have had adventures of the highest kind. I have been to Africa, Greece, China, Europe, but as the lyrics to the old Charlene song remind me:

Oh I’ve been to Nice and the isle of Greece
While I sipped champagne on a yacht
I moved like Harlow in Monte Carlo and showed ’em what I’ve got
I’ve been undressed by kings and I’ve seen some things
That a woman ain’t s’posed to see
I’ve been to paradise, but I’ve never been to me

As one of my most powerful spiritual teachers points out, I have never really been to me. The lyrics to that song came to me while I was lying in a bed unable to walk at Casa Colina, an acute rehab hospital. All of these outward adventures, and I have never really seen the miracle of my own life, for the incredible treasure that it is. What better time to turn to my inner life and my newly healing body and really thank it? My body has taken me everywhere through such rich experiences, both high and low.

I am learning to thank my feet for the roads I have traveled. I am grateful to my beautiful hands for the people I have physically touched, for all the intricate things they have allowed me to do, like pitch on a softball team, to pull ripe tomatoes off the vine, hold new life in my hands, reach up higher, to carry books, write, and paint.

I am grateful for my eyes for all they have allowed me to see, the sunsets of the Serengeti, my friends faces while they are celebrating life, candlelight, the beautiful words in all the amazing books I have read, art, the yellow in van Gogh’s “Self -Portrait with Straw Hat,” and the sunlight on a kitchen counter. The gifts of my stroke have allowed me to be profoundly grateful for my physical body. What are you grateful for in yourself?

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

