Powerful Affirmation

This morning before I went through my usual morning rituals, I had the strong urge to do a powerful affirmation. As a stroke survivor, I take my pills – blood pressure, baby aspirin. I continue to see myself as a healthy person so I take Vitamin D, a One-a-Day, and an Omega 3. Along with these supplements that help strengthen my physical body, I believe it is important to treat my mind and focus on what I am heading toward in my goal of healing. Because my the right side of my throat is still healing, I need to practice saying the words out loud.

And so I speech deeply from my diaphragm, as I used to teach my college students taking my required speech class before graduating from college. As most speech therapists will tell you, the more you speak from your diaphragm, the more power you have in your voice and the more powerful your speech.  I used to find it ironic that I, who was once so good at speaking, should have to learn to speak all over again. Now, however I’m just happy that I know the tools, because I can use them to help heal my own lack of fine motor control on the right side of my throat.

Powerful affirmations have many uses for stroke survivors. For those new to affirmations, Louise Hay is the Queen of  Affirmations. They  help retrain your mind, focusing on the positive. They help you identify how you would like to be known by the outside world, they are great for practicing out loud, and most of all, they help turn your mind away from focusing on your limitations to focus instead on what is possible. I believe in neuroplasticity: The brain’s ability to reorganize itself by forming new neural connections throughout life. Instead of just taking pills for your body, why not start your own day with a powerful affirmation for your mind?

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in mindfulness, Spirituality, Stroke Survivors, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

