Loving Ourselves

Through God’s Eyes

The great spiritual teacher, Louise Hay has been teaching and practicing the art of self-love since the early ‘80s.  In her early work with AIDS patients in West Hollywood, she realized that most were suffering from the lack of self-love.  She began to use affirmations and to feed these men with ideas of the awareness and vision of love.  Self-love and acceptance is transformative.  It heals.  It brings peace to the heart.  It can flip that switch in our brains which causes us to focus on all the things we don’t like about ourselves.  It can set us free.  The following is one of Louie Hay’s meditations on self-love :

“I love myself; therefore I behave and think in a loving way to all people for I know that that which I give out returns to me multiplied.

I only attract loving people in my world, for they are a mirror of what I am.

I love myself; therefore I forgive and totally release the past and all past experiences and I am free.

I love myself, therefore I live totally in the now, experiencing each moment as good and knowing that my future is bright and joyous and secure, for I am a beloved child of the Universe and the Universe lovingly takes care of me now and forever more.

And so it is.”

If only for one minute we could see ourselves through the eyes of God, we might be struck with a feeling of such love and such beauty that we could hardly take it in.  As human beings we are susceptible to judgment, judgment of self and judgment of others.  This discernment helps us navigate the world.  It helps keep us safe and away from danger.  But it can also bind us and it is often inaccurate.

Hardwired into our brains is the capacity for discernment, naming things, cataloging, processing information into categories.  This is a useful set of skills but when we apply these judgments to ourselves it prevents us from seeing our own beauty.  If only we could see ourselves through the eyes of love, we would realize that each one of us is a tender, loving being, making our way in the world as best we know how.  We are learning, we are trying, we are in the process of discovering who and what we really are, with all of our perceived flaws and all of our disappointments.

There is a wonderful book called My Stroke of Insight written by female brain researcher, Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor after she suffered a stroke.  As a result of this stroke, she lost the use of the left side of her brain, the rational, judging portion.  All of her perceptions changed in an instant and she began to live and see the world around her through the eyes of pure love.  It’s a beautiful, true story and clearly documents the way love sees when the judging mind is switched off.  Fortunately, we can access and begin to see ourselves through the eyes of love.  It simply takes practice.  Research has shown that it takes 21 days to form a new habit.  Why not give it a shot?  Try one of Louise Hay’s beautiful meditations on self-love for three weeks and watch the results.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

