The Purr of Contentment

All That I Need

I woke up this morning with a little soft being curled on my shoulder.  Bo, my four-month-old kitten was purring hard, watching and waiting for my eyes to rejoin the world.  How amazing it is to have the physical evidence of contentment so that we can see and feel happiness right in a particular moment.  An article from the Everyday Mysteries section of the Library of Congress suggests that the physics of purring, through its low frequency vibration, is a “natural healing mechanism.” Dr. Elizabeth Von Muggenthaler has also found that purring may be linked to the strengthening and repairing of bones, relief of pain, and the healing of wounds.

The ability to be completely aware in the moment, to be grateful for this moment, and to express that gratitude is a lovely lesson.  And to realize that gratitude heals is to remember that we have within us the mechanism of self-repair.  We have the ability to affect those around us with our vibration.  Wow.  The benefits of contentment not only help to heal but they remind those around us that the simple feeling of love, the awareness of being present and alive are enough.  Nothing else needs to happen.

While I watched the sunlight splay through the curtains and the shadows of leaves move on the wall, I remembered other times of simple contentment and what I learned from the monks in Big Sur.  While on a silent retreat I learned the simplicity of being, of watching the light change, of listening for the bells that signal times of prayer and communal gathering.  I remember watching the mist rise off the ocean, the humbleness of my room, my white cup, my bowl, a single spoon, a knife, a fork.  I had all that I needed and I was content, grateful, alive.

Sometimes it takes the tiniest spark, a sight, a sound, an insight, and we are called to remember that in this moment we have everything we need, that it is enough, and that we are grateful.  Sometimes we are that spark.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

