The Power of Imagination

What Will Your Future Hold?

As a child I used to dream, lying upside down in the Kansas grassland.  The future and faraway places were favorite, recurrent images.  I dreamt of the streets of Paris and the warm California sunshine, of putting my foot in the Pacific Ocean, and all the things that the future would bring.  Hours passed by as the clouds rolled through the changing sky.  I felt happy and life seemed to burst with possibilities.  And all these things came to pass.

Over the years an adult’s imagination becomes differently occupied.  It can veer off onto a different, bleaker course.  Adults tend to worry about the future.  Will I have enough money?  What if I get sick?  Who will take care of me?  What about my health insurance, my stocks, my retirement?  Quite naturally, the mind becomes restless and filled with anxiety.  The quality of life diminishes as the mind is focused on all the dark and disastrous ‘what if’s.’

What if we were to use our minds to envision positive living once again?  What if we were to train our thoughts to take us to unimagined lands?  States of being where we are loved, secure, honored, rewarded?  We can use the power of our imagination to bring new possibilities into our lives – new friends, connections, and adventures.  Sometimes we forget the power of our own imagination.  We can remember again.

Wayne Dyer suggests spending five minutes before bedtime to use our imaginations and focus on all that we desire.  He believes this optimal time, just before falling asleep, allows new ideas to seep into our subconscious all night long.  Research shows that it generally takes 21 days to form a new habit.  Why not give it a try?

Consider the possibilities.  Imagine the life that you dream about.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Power of Imagination

  1. Christina G. Trevino says:

    Wayne Dyer has been my “guru” for many years, and at times, reading his books, listening his CDs, has been the thread that sustained me sane.

Leave a Reply

