Walking on Water

Wet Feet/Big Dreams

There’s a story about an amazing guy who knew more about life than most.  He was out in a little boat with his devoted, hopeful, wannabes.  A storm came up that rocked the water.  The followers got scared.  This character of light walked on the water in an act of faith to demonstrate that things are possible that have never been imagined.  The students were excited.  They loved him.  He was a big hero.  So, like baby birds, they got out and walked on the water too.  Amazing.

Then the waves rose.  The storm kicked up.  Those disciples began to drop back in fear, imagining what horrors might befall them in the churning and powerful waters.  When they lost their focus on the new and exciting, they tumbled down.  The new and the possible disappeared, done in by fear.

I love this story because it reminds me of all the times I’ve had glimmers of exciting new possibilities, believed them, thought they might be true, taken a few steps, and then been done in by fear.  My dreams, sunk.  My hopes, trounced.  All because I lost my focus and let the power of fear and the vision of destruction throw me off a bigger dream.  It’s a human thing.

The beauty of spiritual vision is that we can keep focusing on the new, the possible, and the amazing possibilities that lie ahead.  The second we lose focus, we go plunging back down.  One of my favorite spiritual teachers, Michael Beckwith, teaches that when the momentum of our thoughts becomes more focused on the big, the new, and the possible than on our history and the smallness that have held us down, everything changes and all things are possible.

I’m going to try walking on water.  Again.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

