Waiting for Bodhi

Awakening to New Life

Today I’m driving to another town hoping to find a new kitten.  I’ve been to fourteen animal shelters, seeking them out and finding them whenever I’m on the road.  I’m searching for a loving boy who will become a lifetime partner to my little white cat, Violet who recently lost her lifetime companion after a long and painful illness.  When the time came to end this precious life, I took him away in a blue carrier and Violet never saw Buddy again.  How did she cope?  Did she know what happened?

Animals have an amazing ability to be in the present moment.  After Buddy died, she began to spend a lot more time on my lap, curling against me as I wrote and slept.  Soon after his death, I began looking for Violet’s new mate, hoping to find a gently used rescue cat with just the right temperament.   Fourteen shelters later, Violet was still an only cat.  Finally I got a lead on a new kitten who looks just like Buddy and he may come home tonight.

For me this behind-the-scenes, purposeful planning and activity is a wonderful metaphor for the divine stirring and creating in our lives, unseen and unknown.  Violet knows nothing of my intentions, my search, or how I’ve looked at so many animals for just the right mate.  How often are things in the works in our lives but not yet visible to human eyes?  How difficult it seems to hope and pray for the growth and change we seek with no evidence in sight.  God’s time is not our time.  The Universe may well be working to produce an outcome so magnificent that it will knock our socks off.  If only we can have faith in an all-loving God who knows our every need and begin to trust the process.

I think I’ll name the little guy Bodhi.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

