Comfort in Times of Sorrow

Comfort in Times of Sorrow

There are times in our lives when we feel so down and discouraged.  Perhaps it is the death of a friend, a diagnosis, the loss of something vital in our lives.  At times like these, it seems that words are so inadequate, that nothing will ever be whole again.  Our world has shattered and our hearts torn open.  Where shall we go and how shall we heal?

For me, comfort sometimes comes in the fragments of hymns, “I am the Rock”  “His Eye is on the Sparrow.”  Snippets of healing words come back to me from readings I learned as a kid, “He leadeth me beside still waters.  He restoreth my soul.  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil.  Thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.”  I remember Thich Nhat Hanh’s “Long Road to Joy” and find peace in the word of the simple walking meditation, mindfulness, present moment:

I have arrived

I am home

In the here

And the now

I am solid

I am free

In the ultimate

I dwell

Recalling Thich Nhat Hanh’s journey from the devastation of Vietnamese villages to walking peace meditations in America, I remember that healing is possible, even from unspeakable sorrow.  I remember that throughout the centuries, lost and hurting human beings have cried out in their pain, found comfort somehow, and that small seeds of healing began.  The heart is a flexible organ, it gravitates toward love and touch and connection.  When there are no words, listening is good.  A touch on the shoulder, the hand of a friend can help heal hearts in ways that science can never explain, opening us to the memory of love, reminding us that we can be whole again.

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

