The Wine of Friendship

The ‘Wine of Friendship’

Yesterday morning I awoke from a dream with a fragment of music playing through my mind.  “Let the wine of friendship never run dry,” a line from Les Miserables.  I sat with this thought all day, just letting it move through my awareness.  Today I am feeling so grateful for all of the art forms that humans create, how these forms intermingle, sparking new ideas, morphing into interesting new concepts, and feeding other creative art forms.

These fragments of dreams can be so instructive in waking life, particularly for artists and for those who seek inspiration.  A friend, who is a visual artist, wrote to me this morning, to tell me about her dream of tree trunks filled with butterflies.  For her, the dream symbolized that she is ready to fly.  Many great thinkers have used the power of dreams to guide them toward new leaps of thought that seem to come from a place just beyond our known world that we see and experience every day.

For me, the ‘wine of friendship’ is a reminder to treasure my friends, to consciously consider the richness of these relationships as the great blessings that they are, to connect with these friends more frequently, to tell them how much they’ve inspired me, and to invite them to share their artistic expressions and personal gifts in a more public way.  I’m also considering my value as a friend, the ways in which I can give more of who I am and become a greater blessing and benefit to those who know me.

“Let the wine of friendship never run dry.”

– Les Miserables (Jean-Marc Natel & Alain Boublil)

About LoveHeals

Some people say I make them laugh. Some people say I inspire them. I'm hoping to connect some of the things I've learned along life's road with some of the people who could use a dose of humor and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

